Not my usual post

This is not my usual subscription or beauty post. I really want to expand on this blog and make it more personal and write about what’s going on in my life. I’d like to start posting more regularly either every day or every other day!

323_8_0_pro06_444x250

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. DEXTER!
I can’t believe tomorrow is the 8th and final season of Dexter! I will be going through with-drawl when this show ends. I finally can say that I have watched every episode (thank you On-Demand). It makes me really sad when they cancel shows I love. On the other side of that argument, I guess it’s good to end a series when it’s still a good show and doesn’t end on a bad note. I may be weird but I love shows like Dexter. I wanted to be a Medical Examiner when I was in high school. Blood doesn’t bother me, there are things that do bother me (I worked in two hospitals for almost 5 years) but I will spare the details for the people with weak stomachs. I still have the shows Shameless and Homeland to look forward to when Dexter is gone. Are you a Dexter fan?

 

946983_10151617630969239_1466119220_n

2. Coffee-Mate Caramel and Coconut

I stumbled upon this AH-MAZING coffee creamer while grabbing a few things at the grocery store. My first thoughts were “I LOVE Samoa Girl Scout cookies and I love coffee!” I didn’t have high hopes for this honestly. I poured some in a tall glass, put some 3 ice cubes in with it. Then started my Keurig coffee machine and let the coffee pour on top of the creamer. I took my coffee experience to the next level and made an amazing Starbucks-worthy cup of Iced coffee. I’m in caffeine heaven right now, don’t mind me. If Coffee-Mate discontinues this I will be so sad. Seriously the perfect summer coffee!

dc-fireworks(1)

3. 4th of July

I can’t believe we are more than half way through 2013! Where does the time go?!?!? Independence Day is right around the corner and I am finally off from work this year to enjoy it! I want to go down to Washington D.C. to watch the firework show and take my 3 year old. The only problem with going down to D.C. of the 4th is it is insanely packed with people and HOT! 3 year old + Hot/Humid 90 degree weather + crowded+ Traffic afterwards = formula for disaster. I’m going to have to pass even though I would love to go. I would also love to go to the beach! I will probably just end up going to my parents for a small BBQ, and some fireworks – which is perfectly okay with me. What will you be doing to celebrate the 4th of July!?

e1cfc750fa8fbd437d1d96436cd07503

4. Weight loss

Since October 2011 I have lost a total of 55 lbs. I went from 191lbs down to 136lbs in September 2012. Currently I am 147lbs because I somehow found myself back to my bad habits. I love food, I am a comfort eater and I enjoy eating good food. I crave salty foods over sweets. I can go without cake, ice cream, chocolate for good if I had to. I just need to get back to being on the right track and getting back to feeling healthy and looking good in my clothes. I don’t think I’m fat, but I definitely need to get my bad habits under control. I was never overweight until after I had my son prematurely at 27 weeks. I will be expanding on this goal of mine in future posts- including a “before pic”, weigh in, my action plan, and the story of my complications with my pregnancy. Do you have any weight loss advice that worked for you?

 

 

That pretty much is everything on my mind right now. What do you think of lifestyle blogging? I really think that just having one-two niches isn’t really my style.

 

 

XOXO,

             Erin

none of the photos on this post are my own, Sources:  Dexter photo: sho.com,  Fireworks photo examiner.com, coffee-mate photo: coffee-mate Facebook page. willy wonka meme: Quickmeme.com

7 responses to “Not my usual post

  1. I’m a huge Dexter fan, in fact I’m watching an episode now 🙂 We’re only on Season 7 here though, can’t wait for Season 8! Shame it has to end though.

  2. Thanks for the post! I too have thought about making my blog a bit more personal, a little beyond subscription boxes! Thanks for the inspiration :). Btw, I’m with you with Dexter, boo-hoo. We don’t get showtime but are watching each season on DVD. How date they stop making this show! I’ll have to male sure I don’t read any future posts on Dexter so I don’t get any spoilers( we’re a few seasons behind). Good luck with new format on your blog!!!

    • It took me a long time to get caught up with all the seasons, but they’re so addictive! I promise not to post anything about the new season without putting SPOILER in bright red! & I can’t judge you about the girl scout cookies, that’s an awesome idea! (with a great cause! haha)

  3. And thanks for the creamer tip, I hadn’t seen them. There’s a running joke among friends about my thin mint addiction. I actually thought about buying a deep freeze chest and figuring how many I needed to get me to next march when they go on sale again. I think if hubby didn’t talk me out of it I would have ;). Not too proud but I purchased several cases this past Girl Scout season. Hey, they’re that good! And I’m helping Girl Scouts right? Yep, I did it all for them. At least I keep telling myself that 😉

  4. Lifestyle blogging is great! No need to have a laser focus on one thing, and I think it makes bloggers seem more in touch with their audience. As for weight loss, I struggle too because of bad habits. My best advice is to try not to focus on the number on the scale. Focus on the way that you feel, and try to keep “bad” foods out of your reach. Find healthy alternatives. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

