Olay Fresh Effects review

I tried this product and had high hopes. I like Olay and I really thought that this product was going to be great. I received this product in my Influenster Sunkissed VoxBox. It’s a free box that Influenster sends out to members to test and review products. You can learn more about Influenster here, I have 2 more invites if you’re interested in joining. ( go to the contact page and I will email you an invite. )

photo (62)

 

Unfortunately I did not like this product at all. I have combination skin, that tends to be a little more on the oily side than dry. When I put this on the first time, I liked that it blended into my skin really easily. I also liked the scent at first, until I was wearing it on my face all day. If you’re sensitive to scents or perfumes, I do not recommend this product. I personally will not being using this as a base for my makeup. I didn’t like the sheer coverage it had and I did not like smelling like the BB cream all day. It made my face very oily and shiny. By the end of the day my makeup was all sorts of messed up.

Description on the box:

B.B. Cream, also known as beauty balm, is one of Asia’s hottest beauty sensations. Its multi-tasking formula works to moisturize, brighten and help protect skin from harmful UV rays. This silky, tinted lotion blends effortlessly with your natural skin tone, helping hide imperfections and minimizing the need for concealer and foundation. With just one use, skin will be left glowing naturally even.

it also states on the box: 6 skin perfecting Benefits: Refreshes, Brightens, Evens tone, Hydrates, Smoothes, Protects. All-in-one solution for instantly brighter-looking, smoother-feeling, more even skin tone.

I would only wear this if I was going to be outside for a short period of time. If I were to be at the beach or at the pool for a few hours, I would not put this product on. I did like that it made my face feel a little more hydrated. The Olay Fresh Effects BB cream only has SPF 15, which is really next to nothing (especially in the summer time). On the box it says to reapply at least every 2 hours, use water resistant sunscreen if swimming or sweating.

A little bit about the product:

$12.99 at most stores (Target, CVS, etc.) Not sold with the makeup, but I actually found this product in the skincare/face lotion section.

Comes in two shades: Fair to light and Light to medium (I personally have not found Medium to dark anywhere)

Directions: Apply liberally 15 minutes before sun exposure. Reapply at least every 2 hours. Use water resistant if swimming or sweating.

photo (42)

(swatch of the product).
Final verdict: This product just was not for me. If I had dry skin this product would have been better I think. I also think that maybe if I had gotten a shade that was a little darker, maybe that would have looked better on my skin. This product did make my face feel more hydrated after using it, but that’s pretty much the only thing I noticed about this BB cream.  If I were grading this product I would have to give it a D.

 

 

Have you tried Olay Fresh Effects BB cream? What did you think?

 

XOXO,

Erin

 

disclaimer: I received the Olay Fresh Effect BB cream, complimentary for testing purposes from Influenster. I was not paid for this review or post. All opinions of this product are my own.

6 responses to “Olay Fresh Effects review

  1. Great post! I agree I feel like I can’t find a BB cream that works perfectly for me.

  2. There is no dark. I received medium to dark BUT it is sheer. So sheer the light color is not an issue for me. I like this product for my dry skin type. I am over the BB and CC craze. My fave is Mary Kay’s tinted moisturizer. Thanks for review! xo

    • Thanks for the update! I was unable to find the medium to dark color at my local Target & Walmart. I’m glad it worked for you! I’ve heard really good things about the product, I was just really disappointed with my results from it.

  3. Oh my Goodness! I completely agree re the scent. I could not take it and had to wash it off of my face!! Also, it made my skin feel oily – something I have never experienced.

  4. I haven’t tried this one, but I’ve tried a few others via birchbox and my own purchases. My favorite so far is the Rimmel London BB cream. It’s a bit thicker and more full coverage than most, but still has the lighter feel of a tinted moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

